and so it begins.

What makes me tick?

Obscure hobbies, peanut butter & making people smile.

I am one of those people who loves the idea of “saving the world” (or “taking it over”, same deal.)

About once every few months, I hatch grand schemes of good deeds – whether it be volunteering multiple times a week or taking six months off to build houses in a foreign country. This year I even by-passed the traditional Christmas presents in favour of giving my friends and family toys that would be donated to charity in their name.

But like most things, no matter how much I love the idea of it, I always end up in the same place – over worked, over tired and eating peanut butter out of the jar while watching sci-fi reruns. The pile of things to donate continues to grow in the corner of my apartment and the post-it reminders get increasing more aggressive but nothing much moves past the spark of “wouldn’t that be great?”.

Recently, I took a beat and locked down these simple facts: I love giving gifts. I often make a spectacle of myself. I am in love with the idea of spontaneous moments and I am a diehard workaholic with very little free time.

SO in the name of baby steps & tangible goals, I boiled it down to the simple theory of “making people smile”. Once a week, I come up with a new mission to make at least ONE stranger smile, even if it’s just a split second of bemused surprise.

I may not be able to single handedly save the world, but at the very least, I can put a little bit more positive mojo into it.

This blog is about that.

Leave a Reply

